Our Invitation

Timeline for Our Search, Transition and Election Process

April 15, 2018 Diocesan Profile put online and applications accepted.
May 30, 2018 Deadline for applications at 5:00 p.m., Pacific Standard Time
Early June, 2018 Initial screenings of candidates
Mid-June, 2018 Phone/skype screenings of candidates
Early July, 2018 Final screening for Discernment Retreat
August 13-16, 2018 Discernment Retreat at Camp Galilee
Late August, 2018 Suggested slate of candidates presented to Standing Committee
Early September, 2018 Standing Committee review of slate and Announce final candidates
Early November, 2018 Transition Committee begins walkabouts throughout Diocese
December 1, 2018 Electing Convention of the 11th Bishop of Nevada in Elko, Nevada
March 30, 2019 Consecration of the 11th Bishop of Nevada

In order to make this timeline happen, The Standing Committee commissioned members of the Bishop Search Committee and the Transition Committee on November 4, 2017 and March 10, 2018, respectively.   These committees have two distinct functions.

The Bishop Search Committee is responsible for developing the Diocesan Profile, screening and interviewing candidates (including Discernment Retreat at Camp Galilee), and presenting a final slate of candidates to the Standing Committee.

The Transition Committee is responsible for conducting walkabouts with the final candidates throughout the Diocese, planning the ordination and consecration, and assisting the new bishop and his or her family in their relocation to Nevada.



Front Row (left to right)

Frank Cornett, Christ Church Las Vegas

Mark Koppe, Sr., St. Paul’s, Elko

The Rev. Victoria Warren, St. John’s in the Wilderness,

Glenbrook – Chair

Betty-Jeanne Cousins, Epiphany, Las Vegas

Jeff Colman, Epiphany, Las Vegas

2nd Row (left to right)

The Rev. Mike Link, All Saints’, Las Vegas

Robyn Powers, Trinity Episcopal Cathedral, Reno

The Rev. Carol Walton, St. Timothy’s, Henderson

The Very Rev. Trudy Erquiaga, Holy Trinity, Fallon

3rd Row (left to right)

The Rev. Mike Margerum, St. Paul’s Sparks

The Rev. Dr. Shannon Leach, Grace in the Desert,

Las Vegas – Chaplain

Transition Committee1


Paul Bell, III, Christ Church, Las Vegas

Daniel C. Villanueva, St. Paul’s, Sparks

Carol Wolverton, St. Matthews, Las Vegas

Patricia Holbrook-Seay, Grace in the Desert, Las Vegas – Chair

Steve Sims , Diocesan Administrator & Communications Officer

2nd Row (left to right)

Wayne Adams, Grace in the Desert, Las Vegas

Mark Towne, All Saints’, Las Vegas

Sandra Hudgens, St. Paul the Prospector, Virginia City

Laura Neidert, Trinity Episcopal Cathedral, Reno

Paul Hewen, Trinity Episcopal Cathedral, Reno

Not included in the picture:

The Rev. Rose Mary Joe-Kinale, St. Paul the Prospector,

Virginia City

Sylvia Speed, St. Matthew’s, Las Vegas

The Rev. Lionel Starkes, Holy Spirit, Bullhead City, AZ & St. Matthew’s, Las Vegas


We hope that you know this role is for you.

Next: Application